Virginia Administrative Code

CHAPTER 30
REGULATIONS FOR PRACTITIONERS OF THE HEALING ARTSTO SELL CONTROLLED

SUBSTANCES

Part |

Definitions and Fees
18VAC110-30-10. Definitions.
The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings, unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise.
"Board" meansthe Virginia Board of Pharmacy.
"Controlled substance" means a drug, substance or immediate precursor in Schedules | through VI
of the Drug Control Act.
"Licensee" means a practitioner who is licensed by the Board of Pharmacy to sell controlled
substances.
"Personal supervision" means the licensee must be physically present and render direct, personal
control over the entire service being rendered or acts being performed. Neither prior nor future
instructions shall be sufficient nor shall supervision be rendered by telephone, written instructions,
or by any mechanical or electronic methods.

"Practitioner" means a doctor of medicine, esteepathy osteopathic medicine or podiatry who

possesses a current active license issued by the Board of Medicine.
"Sale" means barter, exchange, or gift, or offer thereof, and each such transaction made by any
person, whether as an individual, proprietor, agent, servant or employee. It does not include the gift

of manufacturer's samplesto a patient.



"Specia packaging" means packaging that is designed or constructed to be significantly difficult for
children under five years of age to open or obtain atoxic or harmful amount of the controlled
substance contained therein within a reasonable time and not difficult for normal adultsto use
properly, but does not mean packaging which all such children cannot open or obtain atoxic or
harmful amount within a reasonable time.

"U.S.P.-N.F." means the United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary.

18VAC110-30-15. Fees.

A. Unless otherwise provided, feeslisted in this section shall not be refundable.

B. Feefor initial license for a practitioner of the healing arts to sell controlled substances.

1. The application fee for initial licensure shall be $200 240.

2. The application fee for reinstatement of alicense that has been revoked or suspended indefinitely
shall be $500.

C. Renewal of license for a practitioner of the healing arts to sell controlled substances.

1. The annual fee for renewal of an active license shall be $90.

2. The annual fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be $45.

3. Thelate fee for renewal of alicense within 60-days one year after the expiration dateis $30 in
addition to the annual renewal fee.

4. The delinguent fee for reinstatement of a tapsed license expired for more than one year is$70-+n

addition-to-all-unpaid-renewal fees shall be $210.

D. Thefee for reinspection of any facility shall be $150.

Part |1
Licensure Requirements

18VAC110-30-20. Application for licensure.



A. Prior to engaging in the sale of controlled substances, a practitioner shall make application on a
form provided by the board and be issued alicense.

B. In order to be eligible for alicenseto sell controlled substances, a practitioner shall possess a
current, active license to practice medicine issued by the VirginiaBoard of Medicine. Any
disciplinary action taken by the Board of Medicine against the practitioner's license to practice
medicine shall constitute grounds for the board to deny, restrict, or place terms on the license to sell.
C. For good cause shown, the board may issue a limited-use license, when the scope, degree or type
of services provided to the patient is of alimited nature. The license to be issued shall be based on
conditions of use requested by the applicant or imposed by the board in cases where certain
requirements of regulations may be waived. The following conditions shall apply:

1. A policy and procedure manual detailing the type and volume of controlled substances to be sold
and safeguards against diversion must accompany the application. The application shall list the
regulatory requirements for which awaiver isrequested and a brief explanation asto why each
requirement should not apply to that practice;

2. Theissuance and continuation of such license shall be subject to continuing compliance with the

conditions set forth by the board:-and

18VAC110-30-30. Renewal of license.

A. A license so issued shall be valid until December 31 of the year of issue. Renewal of the license
shall be made on or before December 31 of each year.

B. If apractitioner failsto renew hislicense to sell within the Commonwealth by the renewal date,
he must pay the renewal fee plusthe late fee. He may renew his license by payment of these fees for

60-days one year from the date of expiration.



C. Failure to renew the license to sell within 60-days one year following expiration shall cause the
license to lapse. The selling of controlled substances with alapsed license shall be illegal and may

subject the practitioner to disciplinary action by the board. To reinstate a lapsed license, a

practitioner shall submit an application for reinstatement and pay the reinstatement fee, plus the

reinspection fee if areinspection is required as set forth in subsection D of this section.

Reinstatement is at the discretion of the board and may be granted by the executive director on the

board's behalf ¢

and-the-delinguentfee provided no grounds exist to deny said reinstatement.

D. Prior to reinstatement of alicense that has been lapsed for more than one year, a reinspection of

the storage and selling area shall be conducted unless another practitioner at the same location has

held an active license to sall controlled substances during that period. A practitioner seeking

reinstatement shall not stock drugs until approved by the board or its authorized agent.

E. The selling of controlled substances without a current, active license is unlawful and shall

constitute grounds for disciplinary action by the board.

18V AC110-30-35. Hraetive status: Repealed

18VAC110-30-40. Actsto be performed by the licensee.
A. The selection of the controlled substance from the stock, any preparation or packaging of a
controlled substance or the preparation of alabel for a controlled substance to be transferred to a

patient shall be the personal responsibility of the licensee.



1. Any compounding of a controlled substance shall be personally performed by the licensee or a

registered pharmacy technician under the supervision of the licensee.

controlled-substance: A licensee may supervise one person who may be present in the storage and

salling areato assist in performance of pharmacy technician tasks, as set forth 8 54.1-3321 of the

Code of Virginia, provided such person is either:

a. A pharmacy technician registered with the board; or

b. A licensed nurse or physician assistant who has received training in technician tasks consistent

with training required for pharmacy technicians.

3. Unless using one of the board-approved training courses for pharmacy technicians, alicensee

who uses a nurse or physician assistant to perform pharmacy technician tasks shall develop and

maintain atraining manual and shall document that such licensee has successfully completed

generdl training in the following areas:

a. The entry of prescription information and drug history into a data system or other recordkeeping

system;

b. The preparation of prescription labels or patient information:;

c. The removal of the drug to be dispensed from inventory;

d. The counting or measuring of the drug to be dispensed to include pharmacy cal culations;

e. The packaging and labeling of the drug to be dispensed and the repackaging thereof

f. The stocking or loading of automated dispensing devices or other devices used in the dispensing

process, if applicable; and

g. Applicable laws and requl ations related to dispensing.

4. A licensee who employs or uses pharmacy technicians, licensed nurses or physician assistants to

assist in the storage and selling area shall develop and maintain a site-specific training program and
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manual for training to work in that practice. The program shall include training consi stent with that

specific practice to include, but not be limited to, training in proper use of site-specific computer

programs and eguipment, proper use of other equipment used in the practice in performing

technician duties, and pharmacy cal cul ations consistent with the duties in that practice.

5. A licensee shall maintain documentation of successful completion of the site-specific training

program for each pharmacy technician, nurse or physician assistant for the duration of the

employment and for a period of two years from date of termination of employment. Documentation

for currently employed persons shall be maintained on site or at another location where the records

are readily retrievable upon request for inspection. After employment is terminated, such

documentation may be maintained at an off-site location where it is retrievable upon request.

B. Prior to the dispensing, the licensee shall:

1. Conduct a prospective drug review and offer to counsal a patient in accordance with provisions of

§ 54.1-3319 of the Code of Virginia; and

2. Inspect the prescription product to verify its accuracy in all respects, and place hisinitials on the
record of sale as certification of the accuracy of, and the responsibility for, the entire transaction.
C. If therecord of saleis maintained in an automated data processing system as provided in

18V AC110-30-200, the licensee shall personally place hisinitials with each entry of asaleasa
certification of the accuracy of, and the responsibility for, the entire transaction.

18VAC110-30-50. Licensees ceasing to sell controlled substances; inventory required prior to
disposal.

A. Any licensee who intends to cease selling controlled substances shall notify the board 10 days

prior to cessation and surrender hislicense, and hislicense will be placed on an-thaetive expired

status-er-may-be surrendered.




B. Any Schedule Il through V controlled substances shall be inventoried and may be disposed of by
transferring the controlled substance stock to another licensee or other person authorized by law to
possess such drugs or by destruction as set forth in this chapter.

C. Thelicensee or other responsible person shall inform the board of the name and address of the
licensee to whom the controlled substances are transferred.

D. A licensee who has surrendered his license pursuant to this section may request that it be made

current again at anytime within the same renewal year without having to pay an additional fee,

provided the licensee is selling from the same location or from another location that has been

inspected and approved by the board.

Part 111
Inspection Requirements, Standards, and Security for Storage Areas; Disposal of Controlled
Substances

18VAC110-30-80. I nspection and notice required.
A. The area designated for the storage and selling of controlled substances shall be inspected by an
agent of the board prior to the issuance of the first license to sell controlled substances from that
site. Inspection prior to issuance of subsequent licenses at the same location shall be conducted at
the discretion of the board.
B. Applications for licenses which indicate a requested inspection date, or requests which are
received after the application isfiled, shall be honored provided a 14-day notice to the board is
allowed prior to the requested inspection date.
C. Requested inspection dates which do not allow a 14-day notice to the board may be adjusted by
the board to provide 14 days for the scheduling of the inspection.
D. At the time of the inspection, the controlled substance selling and storage area shall comply with
18VAC110-30-90, 18VAC110-30-100, 18VAC110-30-110, 18VAC110-30-120 and 18VAC110-

30-130.



E. If an applicant substantially fails to meet the reguirements for issuance of alicense and a

reinspection is required, or if the applicant is not ready for the inspection on the established date and

fallsto notify the inspector or the board at |least 24 hours prior to the inspection, the applicant shall pay

areinspection fee as specified in 18V AC110-30-15 prior to areinspection being conducted.

E F. No license shall beissued to sell controlled substances until adequate safeguards against

diversion have been provided for the controlled substance storage and selling area and approved by

the-board-er-Hs-authorized-agent the inspector or board staff.

G. Thelicensee shall notify the board of any substantive changes to the approved salling and

storage area including moving the location of the area, making structural changes to the area, or

making changes to the alarm system for the area prior to the changes being made and pay a

reinspection fee. An inspection shall be conducted prior to approval of the new or altered selling

and storage area

18VAC110-30-110. Minimum equipment.
The licensee shall be responsible for maintaining the following equipment in the designated area:
1. A current dispensing information reference source, either hard copy or electronic;

2. A refrigerator with a monitoring thermometer, located in the selling area, if any controlled

substances requiring refrigeration are maintained,

5 3. Alaminar-flew-hoeed Equipment consistent with requirements of §54.1-3410.2 of the Code of

Virginiaand USP-NF standards, if sterile products are to be prepared;-and
6 4. Prescription balances, sensitive to 15 milligrams, and weights or an electronic scale, if the

licensee is engaged in extermperaneous-compeounding dispensing activities that require the weighing

of components: ; and




5. Other equipment, supplies, and references consistent with the practitioner's scope of practice and

with the public safety.

18VAC110-30-130. Selling ar ea enclosur es.

A. The controlled substance selling and storage area of the licensee shall be provided with
enclosures subject to the following conditions:

1. The enclosure shall be construed in such amanner that it protects the controlled substance stock
from unauthorized entry and from pilferage at al times whether or not the licensee is on duty;

2. The enclosure shall be of sufficient height as to prevent anyone from reaching over to gain access
to the controlled substances,

3. Entrances to the enclosed area must have a door which extends from the floor and which is at
least as high as the adjacent counters or adjoining partitions; and

4. Doors to the area must have locking devices which will prevent entry in the absence of the
licensee.

B. The door keys or other means of entry and alarm access code to the selling and storage area shall

be subject to the following requirements:

1. Only the licensee shall be in possession of the alarm access code and any keys or other means of

entry to the locking device on the door to such enclosure;
2. The selling and storage area must be locked when the licensee is not present and engaged in
preparation or selling of drugs; and

3. The licensee may place akey or other means of opening the locking device and the alarm access

code in asealed envelope or other sealed container with the licensee's signature across the seal in a
safe or vault within the office or other secured place for use by another licensee. Inlieu of the

licensee's signature across a seal, the executive director for the board may approve other methods of

securing the emergency keys or access codes to the enclosed area.




C. The controlled substance selling and storage areais restricted to the licensee and one person
designated by the licensee. The designated person may be present in the selling and storage area
only during the hours when the licensee is on duty to render personal supervision.
18VAC110-30-150. Expired controlled substances; security.

Any controlled substance which has exceeded the expiration date shall not be dispensed or sold and

shall be separated from the stock used for selling and-may but shall be maintained in a-desighated

the selling and storage area with-the-unexpired-steck prior to the disposal of the expired controlled

substances.
Part IV
Written Prescription and Record K eeping Standards

18VAC110-30-170. Sign and written prescription requirements.

B A. Thelicensee shall conspicuously display asign in the public area of the office and in each

patient examination room advising patients of their right to choose where they have their
prescriptions filled.

C B. The licensee after-delivery-of the written-prescription-to-the patient shall,in-each-case, advise
the patient of their right to obtain the controlled substance from him or from a pharmacy.

C. If the patient chooses to obtain the controlled substance from a pharmacy, the licensee shall

either provide the patient with a written prescription or transmit the prescription orally,

electronically or by fax to a pharmacy of his choice.

D. If the patient chooses to purchase the controlled substance from the licensee, the licensee shall

either:

1. Have the patient sign the written prescription shal-be+eturned and return it to the licensee and

signed-by-thepatient. If the licensee chooses to use the hard copy prescription as his record of sale,
10



he shall record all information and file as required by 18VAC110-30-190. If the licensee chooses to
record the sale in book form or maintain it in an automated data system, he shall mark the
prescription void, file chronologically, and maintain for a period of two years; or

2. Inlieu of awritten prescription, have the patient sign a separate waiver form to be maintained for

at least two years with the dispensing records according to date of dispensing. The waiver form may

not be kept in the patient’ s chart.

18VAC110-30-180. Manner of maintaining inventory recordsfor licensees selling controlled
substances.

Each licensee shall maintain the inventories and records of controlled substances as follows:

1. Inventories and records of all controlled substances listed in Schedule |1 shall be maintained
separately from all other records of the licensee;

2. Inventories and records of controlled substances listed in Schedules 11, 1V and V may be
maintained separately or with records of Schedule VI controlled substances but shall not be
maintained with other records of the licensee;

3. All records of Schedule Il through V controlled substances shall be maintained at the same
location as the stock of controlled substances to which the records pertain except that records
maintained in an off-site database shall be retrieved and made available for inspection within 48
hours of arequest by the board or an authorized agent;

4. In the event that an inventory istaken as the result of atheft of controlled substances pursuant to
§54.1-3404 of the Drug Control Act of the Code of Virginia, the inventory shall be used as the
opening inventory within the current biennial period. Such an inventory does not preclude the
taking of the required inventory on the required biennial inventory date; and

5. All inventories required by 854.1-3404 of the Code of Virginiashall be signed and dated by the

person taking the inventory and shall indicate whether the inventory was taken prior to the opening

of business or after close of business.

11



5 6. All records required by this section shall be filed chronologically.
18VAC110-30-190. Manner of maintaining recordsfor Schedulell through VI controlled
substances sold.

A. A hard copy prescription shall be placed on file for every new prescription dispensed and be

maintained for two years from date of last refill. All prescriptions shall be filed chronologically

form date of initial dispensing. Inlieu of ahard copy prescription, alicensee may have an

adternative record of all drugs sold maintained for two years from date of dispensing or of refilling

an order. Such record shall bein chronologica order by date of initial dispensing with refills listed

with initial dispensing information or by date of dispensing.

B. The hard copy prescription or records of sale for Schedule 11 controlled substances shall be
maintained as follows:

1. They shall be maintained separately from other records; and

2. They shall be maintained in chronological order and shall show the selling date, a number which
identifies the sale, the name and address of the patient, the name and strength of the controlled
substance, the initials of the licensee, and the quantity sold.

B C. The hard copy prescription or records of sale for Schedule 111 through V controlled substances
shall be maintained as follows:

1. They shall be maintained in the manner set forth in subsection A of this section; and

2. The hard copy prescription or records of sale for Schedule 111 through V controlled substances
may be maintained separately from other selling records or may be maintained with selling records
for Schedule V1 controlled substances provided the Schedule |11 through V controlled substance
records are readily retrievable from the selling records for Schedule VI controlled substances. The
records shall be deemed readily retrievableif ared "C" is placed uniformly on the record entry line
for each Schedule 111 through V controlled substance sold. However, if the licensee employs an

automated data processing system or other electronic recordkeeping system for prescriptions that

12



permits identification by prescription number and retrieval of original documents by prescriber's
name, patient's name, drug dispensed, and date filled, then the requirement to mark the hard copy
record with ared "C" iswaived.

18VAC110-30-200. Automated data processing recor ds of sale.

A. An automated data processing system may be used for the storage and retrieval of the sale of
controlled substances instead of manual recordkeeping requirements, subject to the following
conditions:

1. Any computerized system shall also provide retrieval via computer monitor display or printout of
the sale of all controlled substances during the past two years, the listing to be in chronological
order and shall include all information required by the manual method;

2. If the system provides a printout of each day's selling activity, the printout shall be verified, dated
and signed by the licensee. The licensee shall verify that the dataindicated is correct and then sign
the document in the same manner as he would sign a check or legal document (e.g., J.H. Smith or
John H. Smith). In place of such printout, the licensee shall maintain a bound log book, or separate
file, in which the licensee shall sign a statement each day, in the manner previously described,
attesting to the fact that the selling information entered into the computer that day under hisinitials

has been reviewed by him and is correct as shown; and

B. Any computerized system shall have the capability of producing a printout of any selling data

which the practitioner is responsible for maintaining under the Drug Control Act and such printout

shall be provided within 48 hours of areguest of an authorized agent.

Part V

Packaging, Repackaging and Label Standards
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18VAC110-30-210. Repackaging of controlled substances; recordsrequired; labeling
requirements.

A. A licensee repackaging controlled substances shall maintain adequate control records for a
period of one year or until the expiration, whichever is greater. The records shall show the name of
the controlled substances repackaged, strength, if any, quantity prepared, initials of the licensee
supervising the process, the assigned control number, or the manufacturer's or distributor's name
and control number, and an expiration date.

B. The controlled substance name, strength, if any, the assigned control number, or the
manufacturer's or distributor's name and control number, and an appropriate expiration date

determined by the licensee in accordance with USP-NF guidelines shall appear on any subsequently

repackaged or recongtituted units asfeHows: .

18VAC110-30-220. Labeling of prescription asto content and quantity.

Any controlled substances sold by alicensee shall bear on the label of the container, in addition to
other requirements, the following information:

1. The name and address of the practitioner and the name of the patient;

2. The date of the dispensing;

3. The drug name and strength, when strength is applicable:
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a. For any drug product possessing a single active ingredient, the generic name of the drug shall be
included on the label.

b. If ageneric drug is dispensed when a prescription is written for a brand name drug, the label shall
contain the generic name followed by the words "generic for" followed by the brand name of the
drug prescribed, and H-aceerdance with-832.1-87-A-of-the Code-of \irginta; the label shall also
contain the generic's brand name or the manufacturer or distributor of the drug dispensed; and

4. The number of dosage unitsor, if liquid, the number of millimeters dispensed.

18V AC110-30-240. Special packaging.

A. Each controlled substance sold to a person in a household shall be sold in special packaging,
except when otherwise requested by the purchaser, or when such controlled substance is exempted
from such requirements promul gated pursuant to the Poison Prevention Packaging Act of 1970, 15
USC §81471-1476.

B. Each licensee may have a sign posted near the compounding and selling area advising the
patients that nonspecia packaging may be requested.

C. If nonspecial packaging is requested, a signed release of such request shall be obtained pursuant

to-854-1-3427 of the Code-of-\Airginia from the patient or the patient's authorized agent and

maintained for two years from the date of dispensing.

Part VI
Patient's Choice of Supplier, Purchase of Drugs, and Return of Controlled Substances
18VAC110-30-260. Returning of controlled substances.
Controlled substances shall not be accepted for return or exchange by any licensee for resale after
such controlled substances have been taken from the premises where sold, unless such controlled
substances are in the manufacturer's original sealed container or in a unit-dose container which
meets the U.S.P.-N.F. Class A or Class B container requirement, have net been stored under

conditions in which official compendium storage requirements can be assured whereby-they-may
15




have becorme-contaminated, and provided such return or exchange is consistent with federal law and
regulation.
Part VI

Grounds for Disciplinary Action
18VAC110-30-270. Groundsfor disciplinary action.
In addition to those grounds listed in 854.1-3316 of the Code of Virginia, the board may revoke,
suspend, refuse to issue or renew alicense to sell controlled substances or may deny any application
if it finds that the licensee or applicant has had his license to practice medicine, estecpathy

osteopathic medicine or podiatry suspended or revoked in Virginiaor in any other state or no longer

holds a current active license to practice mediere in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Certification

| certify that thisregulation isfull, true, and correctly dated.

Elizabeth Scott Russell

Executive Director
VirginiaBoard of Pharmacy

Date:
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